الصفحة الرئيسية أخبار الرعب والترفيه مايكل جروس عن رحلة بيرت جومر و "الهزات: يوم بارد في الجحيم"

مايكل جروس عن رحلة بيرت جومر و "الهزات: يوم بارد في الجحيم"

by وايلون جوردان

إذا سألت مايكل جروس ، فسيخبرك أنه أسعد رجل على قيد الحياة. لم يقتصر الأمر على لعب دور واحد من آخر الآباء التليفزيونيين العظماء في المسلسل الكوميدي الشهير "Family Ties" ، ولكن عندما انتهى العرض ، حصل على دور حياته مثل Burt Gummer ، الناجي الذي يحمل السلاح في فيلم الرعب الشهير. -امتياز الكوميديا الهزات.

جروس ، الذي يلعب حاليًا دور البطولة في الإدخال السادس للامتياز الهزات: يوم بارد في الجحيم، جلس مؤخرًا مع iHorror للحديث عن رحلته المذهلة وكيف بدأ كل شيء من خلال صنع تاريخ التلفزيون.

قال الممثل: "إنك تأخذ هذه الأشياء كأمر مسلم به عندما تفعلها ، ولا تدرك ما تعنيه للناس أثناء قيامك بها". "ولكن عندما بدأنا في عمل روابط عائلية على قطعة أرض باراماونت في عام 1982 ، كان هناك مشهد صوتي بالقرب منا يصور فيلم" تاكسي "هناك. "Laverne & Shirley" و "Happy Days" كانا ما زالا يلعبان ، وكانت Joanie Loves Chachi في استوديو مجاور ".

بلغ متوسط ​​عدد مشاهدي العرض 28 مليون مشاهد في الأسبوع ، وعندما انتهى في عام 1989 ، تفاجأ جروس إلى حد ما عندما فتح باب غير متوقع للفرصة.

"الأول الهزات كان علاجًا حقيقيًا بالنسبة لي لأنه حدث بعيدًا عن البوابة مباشرةً بعد "الروابط العائلية" وأجاب على سؤالين ". "هل ستكون هناك حياة بعد" الروابط الأسرية "؟ هل سيقبلني الناس كشخصية مختلفة تمامًا؟ "

ومع ذلك ، بعد مهنة رائعة في المسرح الحي الذي يلعب أدوارًا متعددة كل عام ، لم يواجه Gross مشكلة حقيقية في إجراء الانتقال. في الواقع ، كان أكثر من حريص على القيام بذلك ، وكان سعيدًا لإثبات خطأ النقاد.

"لأكون صادقًا معك ، لم يكن الانتقال صعبًا. لقد كانت مكتوبة بشكل جيد وشعرت أنني أعرف هذا الرجل منذ البداية "، أوضح جروس. "ربما شعرت بعدم الارتياح أكثر من لعب ستيفن كيتون الذي كان طبيعيًا جدًا. أحب لعب الأشخاص المجانين ، الأشخاص الأكثر شذوذاً ".

مايكل جروس وريبا ماكنتاير في الهزات الأولى

لكن بالنسبة إلى جروس ، فإن لعب بيرت كان يسير في خط رفيع للغاية ، وقضى الكثير من الوقت في التفكير في متى وكيف يكون "الرجل المجنون الذي لديه الكثير من الأسلحة" مضحكًا ، ومتى يصبح شيئًا خطيرًا؟ أصبح هذا سؤالًا محددًا بشكل خاص في ضوء عدد متزايد من عمليات إطلاق النار الجماعية.

وهذا هو سبب إصرارنا في النهاية على القاعدة الأساسية لـ الهزاتقال الممثل. "لا أحد يدير مسدسه على إنسان آخر في أفلامنا. البشر هم الأخيار والوحوش هم الأشرار. نحن جميعًا عائلة بشرية نقاتل ضد العدو الحقيقي ".

كان مجرد أحد العناصر التي اجتمعت لجعل الامتياز ناجحًا ، ومع ذلك ، بعد الفيلم الأول ، بدا كما لو أنه مات قبل أن يبدأ.

لم يعرف المنتجون تمامًا كيفية التسويق أولاً الهزات عندما تم طرحه في المسارح. لقد وعدوا الجماهير بفيلم رعب فاضح وفشلوا في تحقيقه. بعد أسبوعين فقط في دور العرض ، تم سحب الفيلم وإرساله إلى الفيديو.

ثم حدث شيء سحري.

كانت أوائل التسعينيات هي أيام مجد متاجر تأجير الفيديو ، و الهزات بدأت أعداد الإيجارات تنمو باطراد. لقد كان نوعًا من العبادة التالية التي لم يتوقعها أحد ولم يكن أحد متفاجئًا أكثر من Gross عندما تلقى مكالمة لمعرفة ما إذا كان مهتمًا بعمل تكملة.

"اتصل بي الناس طوال تلك السنوات وقالوا لي ،" هل تعتقد أننا سنصنع واحدة أخرى؟ " وقلت أخبرهم لا على الإطلاق "، ضحك جروس. "لكن على ما يبدو ، تم تمريره كسر صغير قذر لشخص ما. لقد اشتعلت ، وأراد الناس المزيد ".

"المزيد" تُرجم إلى دور جروس ليأخذ مكانًا مركزيًا أكثر في القوس العام للامتياز. لقد أتاح لـ Gross فرصة للبحث حقًا في من كان Burt Gummer وما الذي دفعه لاتخاذ الخيارات التي قام بها.

"عندما جئنا الهزات 5، أخبرتهم أننا بحاجة إلى مزيد من التحديات لبيرت. نحن نعلم أنه يستطيع اصطياد الوحوش. ولكن كيف نتحداه؟ " قال جروس. "لذلك أحضرنا ابنه وسألناه ،" كيف يواجه الشخص المنعزل حقيقة أن هناك شخصًا آخر يريد أن يكون جزءًا من حياته؟ "

لقد كان ، كما اتضح فيما بعد ، تحديًا مثيرًا للاهتمام ومضحكًا أن بيرت كان على أتم الاستعداد له وفي النهاية جاء هو وابنه ... حسنًا ، دعونا نسميها هدنة.

جيمي كينيدي ومايكل جروس في الهزات

في الفيلم الأخير ، بيرت وابنه ترافيس (الذي يلعب دوره جيمي كينيدي) ، يصطادون جرابويدس معًا ، هذه المرة في أقصى شمال كندا حيث يواجه بيرت أكبر تحدٍ يواجهه ، حتى الآن: موته.

"كيف يتخلى الرجل الذي له السيطرة أهم شيء في حياته عن هذه السيطرة؟" سأل الممثل. "إنه أصعب شيء في حياته ألا يكون قادرًا على قيادة القتال."

الهزات: يوم بارد في الجحيم، الذي سيُعرض على DVD و Blu Ray في الأول من مايو ، يثبت أن هذا الامتياز لم يفقد أيًا من قضيته. في الحقيقة، الهزات قد يكون الامتياز الأكثر اتساقًا من نوعه. لم يخذلوا معجبيهم بعد ، وكما أشار جروس في نهاية المقابلة ، فإن هؤلاء المعجبين سيقررون في النهاية مصير هذه السلسلة المجربة والحقيقية من ميزات المخلوقات.

وأوضح "لا يمكنك أبدًا معرفة ما سيحدث". "أنا دائما أراهن ضد هوليوود. عرض الأعمال هو 5٪ عرض و 95٪ عمل ولكن إذا نجحت ستة أعمال ، أعتقد أن لدينا فرصة للعودة ".

تحقق من مقطورة ل الهزات: يوم بارد في الجحيم أدناه وابحث عنه على DVD و Blu Ray و VOD في 1 مايو 2018!

المشاركات ذات الصلة

Translate »

Michael Gross as Burt Gummer in Tremors: A Cold Day in Hell

If you ask Michael Gross, he’ll tell you he’s the luckiest man alive. Not only did he get to play one of the last great TV dads on the hit sitcom “Family Ties”, but when the show ended, he landed the role of a lifetime as Burt Gummer, the gun-toting survivalist in the wildly popular horror-comedy franchise Tremors.

Gross, who is currently starring in the franchise’s sixth entry Tremors: A Cold Day in Hell, recently sat down with iHorror to talk about his incredible journey and how it all started by making television history.

“You kind of take these things for granted when you do them, and you don’t realize what they mean to people while you’re doing them,” the actor said. “But when we began doing Family Ties on the Paramount lot in 1982, a soundstage near us had ‘Taxi’ filming there. ‘Laverne & Shirley’ and ‘Happy Days’ were still playing, ‘Joanie Loves Chachi’ was in an adjoining studio.”

The show averaged 28 million viewers per week, and as it came to an end in 1989, Gross was somewhat surprised when an unexpected door of opportunity opened.

“The first Tremors was a real treat for me because it happened right out of the gate after ‘Family Ties’ and it answered two questions,” he said. “Would there be life after ‘Family Ties’? Would people accept me as a very different sort of character?”

Still, after an impressive career in live theater playing multiple roles per year, Gross had no real trouble making the transition. In fact, he was more than eager to do it, and he was happy to prove the critics wrong.

“To be honest with you that transition was not difficult. It was so well written and I felt I knew this man from the beginning,” Gross explained. “I probably felt more uncomfortable playing Steven Keaton who was so normal. I like playing the crazy people, the more offbeat people.”

Michael Gross and Reba McEntire in the first Tremors

For Gross, however, playing Burt came down to walking a very thin line, and he spent a lot of time thinking about when or how “crazy guy with a lot of guns” is funny, and when does he become something dangerous? This especially became a pointed question in the light of a growing number of mass shootings.

“It was why we ultimately insisted on the cardinal rule of Tremors,” the actor said. “Nobody turns their gun on another human being in our movies. The humans are the good guys and the monsters are the bad guys. We’re all a human family fighting against the real enemy.”

It was just one of the elements that came together that make the franchise a success, and yet, after the first film, it seemed as though it had died before it started.

Producers didn’t quite know how to market the first Tremors when it was released in theaters. They promised audiences a hardcore horror movie and failed to deliver. After only two weeks in theaters, the film was pulled and sent to video.

And then something magical happened.

The early 90s were the glory days of video rental stores, and Tremors rental numbers began to grow exponentially. It was the sort of cult following that no one ever expects and no one was more surprised than Gross when he got a call to see if he’d be interested in making a sequel.

“People called me all those years later and said, ‘Do you believe we’re going to make another one?’ and I said told them absolutely not,” Gross laughed. “But apparently, it had been passed around like someone’s dirty little secret. It had caught on, and people wanted more.”

“More” translated into Gross’ role taking more a central spot in the overall arc of the franchise. It offered Gross a chance to really dig into who Burt Gummer was and what drove him to make the choices he made.

“When we came into Tremors 5, I told them we needed more challenges for Burt. We know he can hunt monsters. But how could we challenge him?” Gross said. “So we brought in his son and asked, ‘How does a loner face that fact that there’s another person who wants to be a part of his life?'”

It was, as it turned out, an interesting and hilarious challenge that Burt was more than up for and ultimately he and his son came to…well, let’s call it a truce.

Jamie Kennedy and Michael Gross in Tremors

By the latest film, Burt and his son, Travis (played by Jamie Kennedy), are hunting Graboids together, this time in the northernmost parts of Canada where Burt ends up facing his biggest challenge, yet: his own mortality.

“How does a man to whom control is the most important thing in his life cede that control?” the actor asked. “It’s the hardest thing in his life to not be able to lead the fight.”

Tremors: A Cold Day in Hell, which will hit DVD and Blu Ray on May 1st, proves that this franchise has not lost any of its bite. In fact, Tremors may be the most consistent franchise of its kind. They have yet to let their fans down, and as Gross pointed out at the end of our interview, those fans will ultimately decide the fate of this tried and true series of creature features.

“You never can tell what will happen,” he explained. “I always bet against Hollywood. Show business is 5% show and 95% business but if six does well, I think we have a chance for coming back.”

Check out the trailer for Tremors: A Cold Day in Hell below and look for it on DVD, Blu Ray and VOD on May 1, 2018!