الرئيسية أخبار الرعب والترفيه مقابلة: جوليان ريتشينغز حول "قطع غيار" و "أي شيء لجاكسون" وهشاشة التمثيل

مقابلة: جوليان ريتشينغز حول "قطع غيار" و "أي شيء لجاكسون" وهشاشة التمثيل

by كيلي مكنيلي
1,046 عدد المشاهدات

قد لا تعرف اسمه ، لكنك بالتأكيد ستعرف وجهه. Julian Richings هو عنصر أساسي في الأفلام والتلفزيون النوع ، مع أدوار فيه خارق للطبيعة ، مكعب ، الساحرة ، أسطورة حضرية ، رجل من الصلب ، الآلهة الأمريكية ، القناة صفر ، هانيبال, منعطف خاطئ، و أكثر من ذلك بكثير. يمتلك الممثل البريطاني (الذي يعيش ويعمل الآن في كندا) إحساسًا قويًا بالجسدية التي يضفيها على كل دور ، حيث يجسد كل جزء بشكل كامل ويمنحهم إحساسهم الخاص بالجاذبية. إنه ممثل مثير للإعجاب يبرز في كل مشهد ، بغض النظر عن حجم الجزء. 

جلست مؤخرًا مع Richings للتحدث معه عن تدريبه كممثل ، وعن أدواره في ضرب طرد الأرواح الشريرة العكسي. أي شيء لجاكسون و punk rock gladiator المواجهة قطع غيار.

أي شيء لجاكسون

أي شيء لجاكسون

كيلي مكنيلي: لقد كان لديك مثل هذه المهنة الواسعة في مجال الأفلام والتلفزيون هنا في كندا. كيف بدأت؟ وهل أنت منجذب بشكل خاص إلى العمل في النوع؟

جوليان ريتشنجز: كيف بدأت ... أعتقد أنني كنت دائمًا ممثلًا. أنا شقيق وسط ، ولدي شقيقان - أحدهما على جانبي - وشعرت دائمًا كطفل ، كنت الشخص الذي يرغب ... سأكون مختلفًا مع كل أخ ، سأكون مختلفًا مع الجميع. 

كان لدي أخ أكبر أيضًا كان لديه مهارة خاصة في خلق البيئات ، وأصبح مصممًا مسرحيًا ، واعتاد على بناء بيئات في الفناء الخلفي لمنزلنا. وكان بحاجة إلى شخص ما لملء تلك البيئات ، مثل مدير الحلبة في سيركه ، وشبح لمنازله وأشياءه المخيفة ، لذا ... خمن من فعل ذلك. ولذا كنت أتصرف دائمًا ، شعرت دائمًا بالراحة حقًا في التمثيل. 

وفي بعض النواحي ، يمكّنني التمثيل من أن أكون جميع أنواع الشخصيات المتطرفة التي لن أكونها أبدًا في الحياة الواقعية. مثل ، أنا دائمًا على دراية بمدى طبيعتي وبليد. كما تعلم ، يذهب الناس ، يا إلهي ، تلعب دور هذا الرجل! إنه الموت من خارق! وأحب أن أقول ، حسنًا ، لقد سُمح لي بذلك ، لكنك لا تريد حقًا أن تعرفني خارج السينما. حسنًا ، هناك جزءان لسؤالك! النوع.

كيلي مكنيلي: هل أنت منجذب بشكل خاص إلى النوع؟

جوليان ريتشنجز: حسنًا ، أعتقد أنه عضوي. أعتقد أنه ، كما تعلمون ، تم تطويره للتو على مر السنين ، نوع الأجزاء التي لعبتها. ليس كثيرًا في المسرح ، لقد نشأت في المسرح ، وتدربت في المسرح ، ومثلت في المسرح ، ثم تطورت ببطء إلى السينما والتلفزيون. وبينما كنت أمارس المسرح ، بدأت في عمل إعلانات تجارية لزيادة الدخل. وجميع الإعلانات التجارية تميل إلى أن تكون شاذة ، غريبة الأطوار ، وشخصيات غريبة. لأنه ، كما تعلم ، عندما تقوم بإعلان تجاري ، لم أكن الأب الكلاسيكي ، أو ، كما تعلم ، الرجل ذو المظهر الجيد ذو الأسنان المثالية. كنت دائما الرجل الغريب غريب الأطوار. وهذا نوع لا مفر منه في السينما والتلفزيون ، لأنه وسيلة أكثر حرفية. لذا فإن نوع الأدوار التي لعبتها كانت متطرفة وفضائية وأنواع رعب. لذا فهي نوع من العضوية. 

في المسرح ، كان لدي طيف أوسع ، لكني احتضنت كل شيء. وأنا أحاول دائمًا حقن عناصر مختلفة في جميع الشخصيات التي ألعبها ، لذلك لا أتجاهلهم على أنهم ، أوه ، هذا دور رعب. كما لو كان دورًا مرعبًا ، سأحاول تقديم القليل من الإنسانية أو إذا كنت ألعب دور إمبراطور شرير ، سأحاول إدخال القليل من الضعف ، هل تعرف ما أعنيه؟ لذلك ، بالنسبة لي ، الأمر يشبه ، لا أعرف ، إنه أمر لا مفر منه ، على ما أعتقد.

خارق

كيلي مكنيلي: والآن عند الحديث عن الشخصيات الشريرة ، فقد لعبت دور الأشرار قطع غيار ومؤخرا في متعة مفرغة، وشخصية أكثر تعقيدًا من الناحية الأخلاقية في أي شيء لجاكسون... ما نوع الأدوار التي تثيرك حقًا كممثل؟

جوليان ريتشنجز: ليس هناك العديد من الأدوار التي لا أذهب إليها ، أوه ، هذا مثير للاهتمام. ليس لدي شعور بالحجم. ليس لدي أي فكرة أو تحيز ، قائلاً ، حسنًا ، هذا ليس جزءًا كبيرًا بما يكفي بالنسبة لي. أوه ، هذا صغير جدًا ، أو هذا مبتذل جدًا. احب القصص. أنا أحب القص. وأحب أن أكون جزءًا من قصة. وأحيانًا يتطلب ذلك شيئًا صغيرًا ومكثفًا. وأحيانًا شيء ينتشر على قوس أكبر. 

لذلك أجد صعوبة في التمييز. إنه مثل ، كما تعلمون ، هناك تلك الأقنعة الكلاسيكية التي تمثل المسرح. هناك قناع الابتسام للكوميديا ​​، وهناك القناع المتوهج للمأساة. أجد صعوبة بالغة في الفصل بين الاثنين ، أعتقد أن وراء كل مأساة هناك كوميديا ​​والعكس صحيح. ونفس الأدوار التي ألعبها. لذا أحب الخلط بينها ، فأنا مرتاح جدًا لكوني جزءًا صغيرًا نسبيًا من القصة ، ويسعدني أن أحمل قصة رئيسية. لذلك أنا لا أذهب ، حسنًا ، الفيلم التالي ، أريد أن أكون هذا أو ذاك. 

أعتقد أنه مع تقدمي في السن ، يسعدني نوعًا ما أن أزعج التصور المسبق لدى الجميع لما تفعله الشخصيات الأكبر سنًا. لذلك مع تقدمي في السن ، يسعدني ذلك لعب شخصيات قوية غامضة ، لأنه في ثقافتنا ، نميل إلى رفض الشيخوخة على أنها شيء ، كما تعلم ، تم شطبه. لذلك هذا نوع من الأشياء الرائعة التي بدأت باحتضانها نوعًا ما.

أي شيء لجاكسون

أي شيء لجاكسون

كيلي مكنيلي: نعم ، بالتأكيد ترى ذلك كثيرًا أي شيء لجاكسون. أحب هذه الفكرة أنه بدلاً من ، كما تعلمون ، هؤلاء الأطفال الذين يقرؤون من هذا الكتاب ويستدعون الشياطين ، هذا الزوجان الأكبر سناً ، ويجب أن يعرفوا بشكل أفضل ، لكنهم يفعلون ذلك على أي حال. وأنا حقا أحب ذلك. 

كنت أتساءل عما إذا كان بإمكانك التحدث قليلاً عن التعقيدات الأخلاقية لـ أي شيء لجاكسون، لأنه حقًا نهج متعدد الطبقات لفعل الاختطاف. هناك فكرة كاملة أنه يفعل ذلك من أجل زوجته ، إنه يفعل ذلك من أجل عائلته ، إنه يعلم أنه ربما ليس بالضرورة الشيء الصحيح الذي يجب فعله. لكن كل هذا بدافع الحب.

جوليان ريتشنجز: بالتأكيد ، لقد ضربته على الفور. أعتقد أن الشيء الرائع والمقلق في الفيلم هو أنه شخصان ملتزمان ببعضهما البعض ، لكنهما يشتركان في حزن رهيب ومأساة مروعة. ومن أجل تخفيف هذا الحزن نوعًا ما ، فإنهم يتطلعون إلى تمكين بعضهم البعض ، والإجراءات التي يتخذونها لا تُغتفر تمامًا ، لكنهم يفعلون ذلك باسم الحب ، وحماية الشخص الآخر. ومن نواحٍ عديدة ، فقد صرفوا المسؤولية بعيدًا عن أنفسهم. وأعتقد أن هذا مكان معقد ومثير للاهتمام حقًا لجلوس الفيلم. 

الآن ، بصفتنا ممثلين ، أعمل أنا وشيلا معًا بشكل جيد حقًا ، كما لو كانت لدينا كيمياء جيدة حقًا ، ولعبنا للتو نزاهة العلاقة بين شخصين. وأعتقد أننا قدمنا ​​لها تجربتنا الخاصة. كلانا محظوظ لأن لدينا علاقات طويلة الأمد. ولذا حاولنا أن نكون صادقين بشأن كل من هيئات المحلفين ومشتتات الانتباه من وجود علاقة طويلة الأمد ، كما تعلمون ، وهذا النوع من القطع الكوميدية التي يمكن أن تأتي في هذا الأمر أيضًا.

كيلي مكنيلي: على الاطلاق. وهناك ، بالطبع ، عملية اختطاف قطع غيار أيضًا ، والتي لها مجموعة من التعقيدات الخاصة بها ودافع أكثر شراً.

جوليان ريتشنجز: نعم ، أعني ، من الواضح أنه أكثر بكثير من كونه فيلمًا مقدمًا ، وطاحنًا ، ولا يأخذ سجناء. ما يعجبني فيه ، ما يضخه حقًا هو نوع من الأذى الشرير. هناك نوع من الكثافة العالية ، وهناك شعور بأن النساء لسن سعيدات ببساطة لأنهن ، كما تعلم ، كائنات مخصصة. كما تعلم ، عليهم أن يقاتلوا في طريقهم إلى الحرية. وهي نوعا ما حصلت على طاقة لها ، ونوع من الضراوة لموسيقى الروك أند رول. وهذا ممتع. مختلف جدا. نوع مختلف جدًا من الطاقة. 

قطع غيار

كيلي مكنيلي: أجواء مختلفة للغاية بين الفيلمين. الآن ، أنا سعيد لسماعك تتحدث كثيرًا عن المسرح. هل يمكنك التحدث قليلاً عن تدريبك وخلفيتك في المسرح وما إذا كان ذلك مناسبًا للنوع ، بقدر ما يشبه التعقيدات الحقيقية التي تجدها في تلك الشخصيات؟ 

جوليان ريتشنجز: نعم ، إنها كذلك. لقد كان له دور فعال في مسيرتي المهنية. لذلك نشأت وتدربت في إنجلترا. لكنني نشأت في فترة من الزمن كان فيها نظام اللغة الإنجليزية القديمة ، وشركات المسرح الأسبوعية ، والمسارح الإقليمية تتلاشى ولم نعد ذي صلة. وهكذا كان هناك نوع جديد من موجة المسارح المجتمعية حيث يمكن للناس أن يقدموا عروضهم في أماكن غير تقليدية. كنت أؤدي في المنتزهات ، في نهاية الرصيف ، على الشواطئ ، في منازل كبار السن - كانت الفكرة هي نقل المسرح إلى الناس. 

ولذا كان هناك شعور - في السبعينيات ، في إنجلترا - بأن النظام القديم لم يعد مناسبًا بعد الآن ، مع ظهور التلفزيون والأفلام ، أن المسرح التقليدي كان يجب أن يتغير. هذا هو المكان الذي دخلت فيه إلى المسرح ، كانت سنوات خبرتي الأولى هناك ، وتدربت أيضًا كممثل جسدي ، ليس مثل الكثير من مدارس الدراما البريطانية ، التي كانت ضليعة جدًا في المدرسة القديمة. 

لقد تدربت كثيرًا على طريقة جروتوفسكي. لقد كان المعلم البولندي في ذلك الوقت ، الذي تحدث عن إنشاء المسرح المادي للألم والقسوة حيث كان الممثلون يتدربون مثل الراقصين ، وكان لديهم نوع من اللياقة البدنية عنهم. وفي الحقيقة ، لهذا السبب انتهى بي المطاف في كندا ، هو أن العرض الذي كنت فيه كان نوعًا من العرض متعدد اللغات والثقافات الذي ذهب إلى أوروبا ، وقام بجولة في أوروبا ، وذهب إلى بولندا ، وجاء إلى كندا ، وكان عرض سياحي. ثم اكتشفت تورنتو - قصة طويلة - لكن انتهى بي المطاف في تورنتو. لكن الفكرة هي أن جسدي للأداء كان دائمًا موجودًا. وقمت بتعديله من المسرح إلى السينما والتلفزيون. 

لكنني دائمًا ما أمتلك جسدية في شخصيتي. أعني ، هذا ليس متعمدًا ، لكنه موجود ، لأنه فطري في تدريبي. لذا سواء كان ذلك مع وجهي ، أو ما إذا كان مع مقل عيني ، أو ما إذا كان ، كما تعلم ، ألعب مخلوقًا مثل Three Finger in منعطف خاطئ، أو الموت في خارق. المهم بالنسبة لي هو اللياقة البدنية الكلية. وبهذا لا أقصد ، كما تعلمون ، مجرد محاولة أن تكون كبيرًا وقويًا وصعبًا. إنه ليس كذلك. لا ، هناك نوع من العمق يأتي من اللياقة البدنية. 

كيلي مكنيلي: إنها أكثر قليلاً من براعة جسدية.

جوليان ريتشنجز: بلى. وأشياء مثل المسرح التقليدي ، إنه في الواقع ليس نوعًا أنا على دراية به جيدًا ، كما تعلمون ، مسرحيات الكلمات الإنجليزية التقليدية المنطوقة. إنه ليس شيئًا تعرفه ، حيث تقف الشخصيات وتتناول الشاي وتناقش وتناقش الأفكار. لست على دراية جيدة بهذا النوع من المسرح. رعب جدا ، ونوع كبير من الأفلام الأوبرالية ، مثل قطع غيار، في الواقع يناسبني جيدًا. 

الساحرة

كيلي مكنيلي: لذلك قد يكون هذا نوعًا من الأسئلة العامة. ولكن ما هو أعظم متعة و / أو تحدي في التمثيل بالنسبة لك؟

جوليان ريتشنجز: يا إلهي. إنه جزء مني ، هل تعلم؟ كان دائما كذلك. أعتقد أن كلاهما هو الضعف. لأنك دائمًا يجب أن تكون حاضرًا في الوقت الحالي ، أليس كذلك؟ إنه أمر مثير للاهتمام حقًا في سرد ​​القصة ، عليك أن تشارك في أنه لا يمكن أن يكون جزءًا من عقلك ، مهلاً ، أنا أستمتع حقًا بتدخين أشيائي. أم أنا مسيطر أم من أنا؟ مضحك ، هذا الصوت في رأسك لا يمكن أن يكون موجودًا ، عليك أن تكون بداخله. لذا لكي تكون على هذا النحو ، يجب أن تكون في وضع من الضعف ، على ما أعتقد ، والتوافر حتى هذه اللحظة. 

وهذا في الواقع صعب للغاية. في الواقع ، من الصعب جدًا أن تكون بسيطًا ومنفتحًا وعفويًا. وبالتالي ، فإن البحث عن ذلك يتطلب الدقة. وهو يتطلب عمرًا من عدم الرضا عن النفس حقًا. الآن ، أنا لا أحسد على ذلك. أعتقد أن هذه هي الطريقة التي أعيش بها حياتي. كنت سأعيش حياتي نوعا ما على قدمي الأمامية. أنا دائمًا أتحرك نوعًا ما ، أجد الناس إلى الجنون لأنني لا أستطيع الاستمرار ، أنا دائمًا نوع من الاستماع والاستجابة. 

لكن من دواعي سروري الأعظم أن أشعر بأنني جزء من تدفق الحياة. لكنها أيضًا مربكة بعض الشيء ، لأنه لا يوجد سلام. بصفتي ممثلاً ، لا يمكنني الجلوس على أمجاد نوعاً ما. لا استطيع. حتى أثناء COVID ، لم أتمكن مطلقًا من الجلوس وكتابة روايتي العظيمة أو كتابة تأملاتي ، أو أنني أقف كثيرًا في الاستماع إلى الآخرين وأعكس ما يقدمونه لي. آمل أن يجيب ذلك. يبدو نوعًا ما طنانًا بعض الشيء ، لكنه حالة ذهنية. أعتقد أنها حالة من الوجود التي أعتقد أنه يجب عليك محاولة الحفاظ عليها.

 

إضافي قطع غيار متاح الآن على VOD و Digital و DVD و Blu-ray
أي شيء لجاكسون سيكون متاحًا على VOD و Digital و DVD و Blu-ray في 15 يونيو

Translate »

Home Horror Entertainment News Interview: Julian Richings on ‘Spare Parts’, ‘Anything for Jackson’, and the Vulnerability of Acting

Interview: Julian Richings on ‘Spare Parts’, ‘Anything for Jackson’, and the Vulnerability of Acting

by Kelly McNeely

You may not know his name, but you’ll certainly know his face. Julian Richings is a staple of genre film and television, with roles in Supernatural, Cube, The Witch, Urban Legend, Man of Steel, American Gods, Channel Zero, Hannibal, Wrong Turn, and many more. The British actor (now living and working in Canada) has a strong sense of physicality that he brings to every role, fully embodying each part and giving them their own sense of gravitas. He’s an impressive actor that stands out in each scene, no matter the size of the part. 

I recently sat down with Richings to speak with him about his training as an actor, and his roles in the reverse-exorcism hit Anything for Jackson and punk rock gladiator showdown Spare Parts.

Anything For Jackson

Anything for Jackson

Kelly McNeely: You’ve had such an extensive career in genre film and television here in Canada. How did you get started? And are you particularly drawn to working in genre?

Julian Richings: How did I get started… I guess I’ve always been an actor. I’m a middle sibling, and I have two brothers — one either side of me — and I’ve always felt as a kid, I was the one that would like… I would be different with each brother, I would be different with everybody. 

I had an older brother also that had a particular skill creating environments, he became a theater designer, and used to build environments in our backyard. And he needed somebody to populate those environments, like a ringmaster for his circus, and a ghost for his spook houses and stuff, so… guess who did that. And so I’ve just always acted, I always felt really comfortable acting. 

And in some ways, acting enables me to be all kinds of extreme characters that I never would be in real life. Like, I’m always actually aware of how ordinary and dull I am. You know, people go, Oh, my God, you play that guy! It’s Death from Supernatural! And I love to say, Well, I was allowed to be that, but you don’t really want to know me outside the movies. So, oh, and there’s two parts to your question! Genre.

Kelly McNeely: Are you particularly drawn to genre?

Julian Richings: Well, I think it’s organic. I think that, you know, it’s just developed over the years, the kind of parts that I’ve played. Not so much in theater, I grew up in theater, I trained in theater, I’ve acted in theater, and then I slowly evolved into film and television. And as I was doing theater, I started to do commercials to supplement my income. And the commercials all tended to be offbeat, geeky, weird characters. Because, you know, when you’re doing a commercial, I wasn’t the classic dad, or, you know, the good looking guy with perfect teeth. I was always the strange guy, the eccentric. And that’s sort of inevitable in film and television, because it’s a more literal medium. So the kind of roles that I’ve played have been outliers and aliens and horror genres. So it’s sort of organic. 

In theater, I’ve had more of a wider spectrum, but I embrace everything. And I always try to inject different elements to all the characters that I play, so I don’t dismiss them as being, oh, that’s a horror role. Like if it’s a horror role, I’ll try and introduce a bit of humanity or if I’m playing an evil Emperor, I’ll try and inject a bit of vulnerability, you know what I mean? So, for me, it’s like, I don’t know, it’s just inevitable, I guess.

Supernatural

Kelly McNeely: And now speaking of the villainous characters, you’ve played villains in Spare Parts and recently in Vicious Fun, and a more morally complex character in Anything for Jackson… What kind of roles really excite you as an actor?

Julian Richings: There aren’t many roles that I don’t go, oooh, that’s interesting. I have no sense of size. I have no idea or prejudice, saying, well that’s not a big enough part for me. Oh, that’s too small, or that’s too cliche. I like stories. I like storytelling. And I like being part of a story. And sometimes that requires something that’s small and intense. And sometimes it’s something that’s spread on a bigger arc. 

So I find it hard to distinguish. It’s like, you know, there’s those classic masks that represent theater. There’s the smiling mask for comedy, and there’s the glowering mask for tragedy. I find it very difficult to separate the two, I think behind every tragedy, there’s a comedy and vice versa. And the same of the roles that I play. So I like mixing it up, I’m very comfortable being a comparatively small part of the story, and I’m happy carrying a main story. So I don’t kind of go, alright, next film, I want to be this or that. 

I guess as I get older, I’m happy to sort of upset everybody’s preconception of what older characters do. So as I get older, I’m happy to play enigmatic powerful characters, because in our culture, we tend to dismiss aging as being something that, you know, you’re written off. So that’s kind of a cool thing that I’m sort of starting to embrace.

Anything for Jackson

Anything for Jackson

Kelly McNeely: Yeah, you definitely see that a lot in Anything for Jackson. I love that idea that instead of, you know, these kids reading from this book and summoning demons, it’s this older couple, and they should know better, but they do it anyway. And I really love that. 

I was wondering if you could talk a little bit about the moral complexities of Anything for Jackson, because it’s really quite a layered approach to the act of kidnapping. There’s this whole idea that he’s doing it for his wife, he’s doing it for his family, he knows that maybe it’s not necessarily the right thing to do. But it’s all out of an act of love.

Julian Richings: Absolutely, you hit it spot on. I think that what’s both wonderful and unsettling about the film is that it’s two people that are committed to each other, but share a terrible grief and a terrible tragedy. And in order to kind of alleviate that grief, they look to enabling each other, and the actions that they take are quite, quite unforgivable, but they do it in the name of love, and protecting the other person. And so in many ways, they’ve deflected the responsibility away from themselves. And I think that’s a really complex and interesting place for a film to sit. 

Now, as actors, Sheila and myself work together really well, like we had a really good chemistry, and we just played the integrity of the relationship between two people. And we, I guess, we brought to it our own experience. We both are fortunate to have had long term relationships. And so we tried to be honest about both the juries and the distractions of having a long term relationship, you know, and this sort of comedic bits that can come into it as well.

Kelly McNeely: Absolutely. And there’s, of course, an abduction in Spare Parts as well, which has its own sort of set of complexities and a much more sinister motive.

Julian Richings: Yeah, I mean, it is clearly much more of an upfront, grindhouse, take-no-prisoners kind of film. What I like about it, what it really injects into that is a sort of a punk mischief. There’s sort of a high intensity, and there’s a sense that the women are not simply happy to be, you know, customized objects. You know, they’ve got to fight their way out to freedom. And it’s sort of got an energy to it, and a rock and roll kind of ferocity. And that is fun. Very different. Very, very different kind of energy. 

Spare Parts

Kelly McNeely: A very different vibe between the two films. Now, I’m happy to hear you talk so much about theater. Could you speak a little bit about your training and your background in theatre and if that perhaps lends itself to genre, as far as like the real complexities that you find in those characters? 

Julian Richings: Yeah, it does. It’s been instrumental in my career. So I grew up and trained in England. But I grew up in a period of time when the Old English system, the weekly repertory theatre companies, and the regional theaters were decaying and we’re no longer relevant. And so there was a new kind of a wave of community theaters where people would perform in non-traditional spaces. I performed in parks, on the end of the pier, on beaches, in seniors homes — the idea was to take theater to the people. 

And so there was a sense of — in the 70s, in England — that the old system wasn’t relevant anymore, with the advent of television and movies, that the traditional theater had to change. So that’s where I got into the theater, my early years of experience were there, and I also trained as a physical actor, not like a lot of British drama schools, that were very much versed in the old school. 

I was very much trained in Grotowski’s method. He was the Polish guru of the time, who talked about creating the physical theater of pain and cruelty in which the actors were almost trained like dancers, they had a sort of physicality about them. And in fact, that’s why I ended up in Canada, is that the show that I was in was a sort of a multi-lingual, multicultural show that went to Europe, toured Europe, went to Poland, came over to Canada, it was a touring show. So then I discovered Toronto and — long story — but I ended up in Toronto. But the idea being that my physicality for performance has always been there. And I’ve adjusted it from the theater to film and television. 

But I always have a physicality in my character. I mean, it’s not deliberate, but it’s there, because it’s innate in my training. So whether it’s even with my face, or whether it’s with my eyeballs, or whether it’s, you know, I’m playing a creature like Three Finger in Wrong Turn, or Death in Supernatural. What’s important to me is the overall physicality. And by that I don’t mean, you know, like, just trying to be big and strong and tough. It’s not like that. No, there’s a sort of a depth to it that comes from the physique. 

Kelly McNeely: It’s a bit more of a physical finesse.

Julian Richings: Yeah. And things like traditional theatre, it’s actually not a genre that I’m actually well versed in, you know, the traditional English spoken word plays. It’s not something you know, where characters stand around and have tea and discuss and debate ideas. I’m not well versed in that kind of theater. So horror, and grand sort of operatic films, like Spare Parts, actually suit me very well. 

The Witch

Kelly McNeely: So this might be sort of a broad question. But what to you is the greatest joy and/or challenge of acting?

Julian Richings: Oh, gosh. It’s a part of me, you know? It always has been. I guess both, it’s the vulnerability. Because you always have to be present in the moment, right? It is truly interesting in the telling of the story, you’ve got to be engaged in that it can’t be a part of your brain going, hey, I’m really enjoying strutting my stuff. Or, I’m in control, or who am I? Funny, that voice in your head cannot be there, you have to be inside of it. So in order to be like that, you have to be in a position of a state of vulnerability, I think, and availability to the moment. 

And that’s actually very difficult. It’s actually very difficult to be simple and open and spontaneous. And so, the search for that, it requires rigor. And it requires a lifetime of never sort of being complacent, really. Now, I don’t begrudge that. I think that’s the way I live my life. I’d sort of live my life on my front foot. I’m always sort of moving, I drive people crazy because I can’t keep still, I’m always sort of listening, responding. 

But it’s both my greatest joy that I feel very much a part of the flow of life. But it’s also a little overwhelming too, because there’s no peace. As an actor, I can’t sort of sit back on my laurels. I can’t. Even during COVID I’ve never been able to sit down and write my great novel or write my reflections, or I’m too much on my front foot listening to other people and reflecting what they give to me. I hope that answers it. It sort of sounds a little pretentious, but it’s a state of mind. I guess it’s a state of being that I think you have to try and preserve.

 

Spare Parts is available now on VOD, Digital, DVD, and Blu-ray
Anything for Jackson will be available on VOD, Digital, DVD, and Blu-ray on June 15

Related Posts

Translate »