2015: The Year That a Dream Warrior Won an Academy Award

adminNewsLeave a Comment

It’s no secret that many of Hollywood’s top stars got their start in the horror genre, from Leonardo DiCaprio (Critters 3) to Jennifer Aniston (Leprechaun). The list is quite frankly endless, and no list of that sort would be complete without Patricia Arquette.

Arquette has sure come a long way since beginning her acting career in the late 80s, making her film debut in 1987’s A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors. The actress of course played Kristen Parker in the movie, one of the few Elm Street characters to survive her battle with Freddy.

Though Patricia Arquette didn’t reprise the iconic role in the follow-up sequel – Tuesday Knight replaced her – she is nevertheless the Kristen Parker in the eyes of most horror fans. And her depiction of Kristen is, without question, one of the franchise’s most memorable and beloved characters.

Patricia Arquette Dream Warriors

All of us here on iHorror couldn’t possibly have been more excited when it was announced last night that Arquette won the Best Supporting Actress statue for her role in Boyhood, which was impressively filmed over the course of 12 years. It’s Arquette’s very first Oscar win, and more importantly, the first Oscar win EVER for a Dream Warrior.

Yes, one of our beloved Dream Warriors can officially add ‘Oscar Winner’ to her resume, and that’s cause for celebration. So congratulations, Patricia Arquette. We knew you were something special all those years ago, when you survived Freddy’s wrath!

Play us out, Dokken…

[youtube id=”JDveKxl7Ohs”]